Luxembourg City: a European capital in more than one way

📷 Raphael Koerich

Luxembourg might be the second smallest member state of today’s European Union, but it plays a rather important and active role in the daily business and decision-making at EU level. Together with Brussels and Strasbourg, Luxembourg City is one of the three official European capitals.

The capital’s close link to the EU is, however, not accidental. None other than Robert Schuman, often described as the pioneer of a united Europe, was born in Luxembourg back in 1886. On 9 May 1950, Schuman proposed the creation of the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC), which then became the predecessor of all subsequent community institutions. Together with France, Germany, Belgium, Italy and the Netherlands, Luxembourg is one of the six founding countries of the European Union. As such, “Europeanness” has been at the very core of Luxembourg’s identity for many decades. 

📷 Raphael Koerich

The Kirchberg Plateau, a modern and booming district in north-eastern Luxembourg City, has been housing major EU institutions since the 1960s. Today, it is home to the General Secretariat of the European Parliament, the European Investment Bank, the European Court of Auditors as well as various departments of the European Commission, to name but a few. 

But Luxembourg City is not just a European capital on a political and economic level. With more than 167 different nationalities living in the city, the capital could not be more multicultural and diverse. In fact, of its 120.000 inhabitants, a staggering 70% is non-Luxembourgish. With foreigners making up most of its population, the city is a true linguistic melting pot. Not only are Luxembourgish, French and German official languages, but other languages such as English and Portuguese are also widely spoken in the capital. 

Come and visit Luxembourg City for a truly European experience! 

Last Changed Date: 2016-05-19 11:45:13 +0200 (Thu, 19 May 2016)